©2016 JOY | IM32CA©2016 JOY | IM32CA

Blue Water Series A Huge Success, DeVos Crowned 2016 Champion

23 May 2016

After three events and 24 races, the Blue Water Series (BWS) hosted by the Lauderdale Yacht Club (LYC), a full round of congratulations goes out to Dick and Ryan DeVos and their Volpe team as they claimed the overall title.

All three events saw a different winner; Jason Carroll's Argo claimed the first event becoming the only team to hold the U.S. National Championship three times. Richard Gorannson’s Inga From Sweden won the Gold Cup, and DeVos’ Volpe nabbed the 3rd win showing the depth of the fleet and that any team that prepares well and gets hot can win an event.

For the first time in the US, a corinthian division was scored and some great battles were had between the all “kids” team on Hydra and Grant Hood’s Quest. Swapping blows at every stage, Hydra emerged on top as the Corinthian Series leader and look primed to keep on surprising the fleet at the Nationals and Worlds this summer.


Lastly, a huge thank you to Grant Hood, Richard Goransson, Edward Tillinghast, the DeVos' and the Lauderdale Yacht Club for hosting World Class events and making the Melges 32 fleet feel at home.