2009 Carlo Borlenghi2009 Carlo Borlenghi

2009 Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series Event No. 2, Lerici Preview

8 May 2009

Leading the Audi Sailing Series thus far is Lorenzo Santini aboard the famous Uka Uka Racing. Together, with Alessio Marinelli at the helm with Lorenzo Bressani on tactics, they are seated in the top position. In second place, is Calvi Network's Carlo Alberini with the experienced eye and expertise of Gabriele Benussi as tactician. Another great competitor, Francesco Martino on the helm of Pilot Italia is seated respectively in third.

Another strong contender is Claudio Recchi with none other than America's Cupper and former 2005 Melges 24 World Champion crew member Jonathan McKee at his side on Team 93, and Luigi Melegari on Matrix with Matteo Ivaldi on tactics are both outstanding teams and expected to excel in Lerici. Previously aboard Andrea Cecchetti's Bagua, the excellent Vasco Vascotto will join Lanfranco Cirillo's Team Fantasticaaa at this meeting.

The list of superstars is long and distinguished. Kiwi Kelvin Harrap is sailing with Great Britain's Peter Rogers on Highlife, Tommaso Chieffi is calling the shots for Savino Formentini on Bitipi, Freddy Loof is on board with Melges 32 Fleet President Filippo Pacinotti's Brontolo, Pietro D'Ali is assisting Mauro Mocchegiani on Rush Diletta. These are only some of the names that will contend for the Lerici edition of the Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series 2009.

Racing begins on Friday, May 8 and continues until Sunday, May 10.

Full Crew List : Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series 2009, Event No. 2

Overall Standings, Audi Melges 32 Sailing Series 2009 (After 1 Event)
1.) Lorenzo Santini/Alessio Marinelli, Uka Uka Racing
2.) Carlo Alberini, Calvi Network
3.) Francesco Martino, Pilot Italia
4.) Stuart Simpson, Team Barbarians
5.) Andrea Cecchetti, Bagua
6.) Joe Woods, Red
7.) Mauro Mocchegiani, Rush Diletta
8.) Claudio Recchi, Team 93
9.) Luigi Melegari, Matrix
10.) Cirillo Lanfranco, Team Fantasticaa
11.) Savino Formentini, Bitipi
12.) Peter Rogers, Highlife
13.) Stefano Di Properizio, Mataran
14.) Antonello Morina, Sei Tu 32
15.) Edoardo Lupi, Torpyone
16.) Filippo Pacinotti, Brontolo
17.) Roberto Pardini, Janus
18.) Edoardo Pavesio, FRA Martina
19.) Ferdinando Battistella, Hublot Big-Bang
20.) Ernesto Faraco, LEA
21.) Pietro Golinucci, Spirit of Simone