©2009 Scott Nixon©2009 Scott Nixon

Ryan Devos Win 2009 Melges 32 Great Lakes Gold Cup Series

24 August 2009

Article courtesy of Scott Nixon -  Congratulations to Ryan Devos aboard Alpha One as he is the 2009 Melges 32 Great Lakes Gold Cup Series Champion. The Series came to an end after some great racing on Lake Michigan. This was the first time this series was held and it should be a great series next year as the fleet comes to the Great Lakes in preparations for the Melges 32 U.S. Nationals in 2009. This year the 3 regatta series consisted of the Chicago NOOD, the Harbor Springs Regatta and the Verve Cup. The racing was extremely close all summer, as Ryan DeVos on Alpha One just edged out Dalton DeVos and his Delta team by a mere 1.5 points to win the overall series. These two teams were locked in battle at all 3 events with some exciting and close finishes. Ted Etheridge’s Drumbeat team took third place overall after a very good start winning the Chicago NOOD.

Special thanks to the Melges 32 class, the teams that raced and made this a fun series, and the race management volunteers from all three events. Racing the Melges 32 in the Great Lakes is a true pleasure in the summer with great venues, great people, fresh water and good winds. We look forward to getting more teams out and racing in this series next year.


1. Ryan DeVos- USA-180 Alpha One
2. Dalton DeVos- USA-1215 Delta
3. Ted Etheridge- USA-201 Drumbeat