©2008 JOY | International Melges 32 Class Association©2008 JOY | International Melges 32 Class Association

Woods Begins To Paint The 2010 Melges 32 Midwinter Championship Series Red

7 February 2010

A very excited Joe Woods climbed down from the podium a couple of weeks ago in Key West at Race Week giddy as a school boy with his second place trophy in the highly competitive Melges 32 fleet. "Second place again. Always a bridesmaid, never a bride," he said with a smile. It was the second year in a row that Joe settled for second overall. Ironically, he was also granted the same fate at the Gold Cup in December 2009, finishing second to Annapolis' Rod Jabin by less than a point.

For Woods, as the 2010 Melges 32 Midwinter Championship Series unfolds, he has proven that second place can be as important as first. Woods leads the impressive field of 28 participating teams after two events. Ahead by a nice five points, Woods has further proven himself as one of the very best Melges 32 teams in the world.

Woods' sportboat operation is home-based in Torquay, UK. He first got into the class about three years ago. Almost twenty-regattas later, an ECC title and three very active Melges 32s that proactively race in the U.S. and on the European Audi Sailing Series circuit, this lead comes as no real surprise. His core crew consists of Shane Hughes, David Lenz, Jamie Binmore, Chris Cooper and Paddy Bettesworth. The latest addition to the team has been tactician Paul Goodison. Goodison first joined Wood’s Red effort in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. propelling them to finish well.

Happily filling some shiny second-place shoes in the Midwinter Series ranking is Jabin. He had a fantastic first time out at Gold Cup taking the win, but a lack-lustre eighth place finish in Key West set him several points out of first. In third overall is Italy’s Lanfranco Cirillo.

Event No. 3, the Miami Grand Prix happens on March 4-7 and is the final 2010 Melges 32 Midwinter Championship Series event.

1.) Joe Woods, Red
2.) Rod Jabin, Ramrod
3.) Lanfranco Cirillo, Fantastica
4.) John Kilroy, Samba Pa Ti
5.) Jeff Ecklund, STAR
6.) Alex Jackson, Leenabarca
7.) Mike Carroll, New Wave
8.) Bob Hughes, Heartbreaker
9.) Jason Carroll, Argo
10.) John Taylor, Ninkasi

View The Full 2010 Melges 32 Midwinter Championship Series Standings